Southwestern College Academic Senate

Splitting the Physical Sciences Department into two separate Departments: Chemistry and Physical Sciences consisting of Physics, Astronomy, Physical Sciences, Engineering, Geology and Geography

Whereas, The Chemistry Discipline has experienced significant growth in recent years increasing from 67 sections in 2014-15 to 102 offered in 2019-2020;

Whereas, This rapid growth has required additional efforts on the part of the Chair to ensure continuity of the Chemistry Program coordinating offerings offered at the centers with those offered at the main campus;

Whereas, The recent resurgence of the San Diego Biotechnology, Energy and industrial sectors has made it increasingly difficult to hire Chemistry adjunct faculty, requiring significantly more recruiting efforts on the part of the Chair;

Whereas, The Chemistry Discipline is currently updating and redesigning its curriculum including implementation of innovative active learning and project based labs;

Whereas, The current configuration of the Physical Sciences Department with seven disciplines makes it difficult if not impossible for a single chair to handle these changes and additional duties;

Resolved, That the Physical Sciences Department be split into two Departments, each with its own Chair, one being the Chemistry Department and one the Physical Sciences Department consisting of Physics, Astronomy, Physical Sciences, Engineering, Geology and Geography.

Approved by the Academic Senate: September 24, 2019