Skip to page body Home About SWC Admissions Academic Programs Student Services Schools & Centers Faculty & Staff

The Southwestern Community College District Governing Board plays an important role in the growth and development of Southwestern College, currently the only public institution of higher education within South County. Comprised of five elected members and one student member, the Governing Board ensures that the District fulfills its responsibility to lead and serve its ever-changing communities.

To contact Governing Board members, you can email them or call the office at 619-482-6301.

According to the Community College League of California, the primary responsibilities of the Governing Board as a unit are to:

  • Set the policy direction
  • Employ a chief executive officer as the institutional leader
  • Act as a community bridge and buffer
  • Establish the climate in which educational goals are accomplished
  • Define legal, ethical and prudent standards for college operations
  • Assure fiscal health and stability
  • Maintain standards for good personnel relations
  • Monitor institutional performance
  • Lead as a thoughtful educated team

The Southwestern Community College District Governing Board Members

 Photo of GB member Norma Hernandez

Norma L. Hernandez -- Seat 4
Term: December, 2014 - November, 2018
Board President
nhernandez@swccd.edu


 photo of Nora Vargas

Nora E. Vargas -- Seat 1
Term: 
December 2014 - November, 2018
Board Vice President
nvargas@swccd.edu

 

 Griselda Delgado

Griselda A. Delgado -- Seat 2
Term: 
December, 2014 - November, 2016
gdelgado@swccd.edu

 

 Tim Nader

Tim Nader -- Seat 5

Term:
 December, 2014 - November, 2018
tnader@swccd.edu


 

portrait of Peraza 

Humberto Peraza, Jr. -- Seat 3 
Term: December, 2012 - November, 2016
hperaza@swccd.edu

 

 Sayaka Ridley

Sayaka Ridley -- Student Trustee 
Term: June, 2014 – May, 2015
asopres@swccd.edu

 

 portrait of Nish Dr. Melinda Nish -- Superintendent/President
mnish@swccd.edu

 

Last updated: 12/18/2014 12:37:48 PM