## **RESOLUTION NO. 1888**

## A RESOLUTION RECOGNIZING THE CONTRIBUTIONS OF ASIAN AMERICANS & PACIFIC ISLANDERS IN SAN DIEGO COUNTY AND PROCLAIMING ASIAN PACIFIC AMERICAN HERITAGE MONTH

**WHEREAS**, every May is recognized as Asian Pacific American Heritage Month throughout the United States recognizing the enormous contributions of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders (AAPIs) throughout the history of our great Nation; and

**WHEREAS**, on the 50th anniversary of the Immigration Act of 1965, San Diego has significantly benefitted from waves of migration that have contributed to the fabric of our region; and

**WHEREAS**, the over 350,000 Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in San Diego County contribute to the richness and diversity of our region; and

**WHEREAS**, Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in San Diego have made significant contributions to our communities in business, government, community service, education, health care, engineering, science and arts; and

**WHEREAS**, the vibrant Asian American and Pacific Islander community will celebrate with their diverse friends, families, neighbors, classmates, colleagues, and parishioners during the month of May; and

**WHEREAS**, this elected body is committed to educating the public about the history of Asian Americans and Pacific Islanders in the United States, in California, and in San Diego;

**NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED**, by the Southwestern Community College District Board, that this body does hereby proclaim May 2015 "ASIAN PACIFIC AMERICAN HERITAGE MONTH" in recognition of the Asian American and Pacific Islander communities in San Diego and their contributions to making this region a better place.

**PASSED AND ADOPTED** by the Governing Board of the Southwestern Community College District this 13<sup>th</sup> day of May, 2015.

Norma L. Hernandez, Governing Board President
Nora E. Vargas, Governing Board Vice President
Griselda Delgado, Governing Board Member
Offseida Dergado, Governing Board Member
Tim Nader, Governing Board Member
Humberto Peraza, Jr., Governing Board Member

Sayaka Ridley, Student Governing Board Member