

STUDENT OF DISTINCTION <u>AWARD</u>

The Student of Distinction Award (SODA) is the most prestigious award a Southwestern College student may receive. It acknowledges 20 current Southwestern College students who excel academically, participate in leadership activities, and demonstrate commitment to a goal or purpose. Students may be nominated by an SWC Administrator, Classified Staff, and Faculty Member. They are judged by selected members of the college from all constituent groups. The awardee receives a scholarship, certificate, and a medallion. Students must meet all eligibility requirements as follows:

- Must be a current SWC student enrolled in at least 6 units in Spring 2020
- Have an overall minimum GPA of 3.0 at SWC
- Must have a minimum of 30 units completed at Southwestern College
- Have a Student Education Plan on file as proof of plans to transfer or complete a program
- May not have received a Bachelor's degree or higher
- Must not be a past SODA recipient
- Must not have any disciplinary records at Southwestern College

The Student of Distinction Award (SODA) is proudly sponsored by



ALEJANDRA AGUILAR

Nominated by: Michael Speyrer

KELLY ALVAREZ

Nominated by:

April Brenner, Bridget Cavaiola, Dr. Guadalupe Corona, Craig Dolce, Dr. Sylvia Garcia-Navarette, Minerva Garcia

ALEXANDRIA BAKER

Nominated by Michael Meehan

JACOB BINGHAM

Nominated by Minerva Garcia, Mourad Mjahed

GAMALIEL CARRENO

Nominated by Dr. Max Branscomb

MARIAH COOPER

Nominated by Crystal Alberto

DONNA ESCOBAR

Nominated by Nora Rodriguez

JENAI FUNK

Nominated by Myriam Moody, Rob Shaffer, Dr. Michael Odu, Peter Herrera

JENNIFER GOMEZ

Nominated by Danielle McAneney, Dr. Michael Odu

ASHLEY HERNANDEZ

Nominated by Carole Ziegler, Bulent Bas

SOLE MCMILLAN-RUIZ

Nominated by Dr. Max Branscomb

NATALIA MERCADO

Nominated by Mimi Rasky, Mourad Mjahed

ALONDRA OSUNA OROZCO

Nominated by Angela Chelik, Anthony Campbell, Carolina Soto

OMAR RAMIREZ-PIMIENTA

Nominated by Mourad Mjahed, Dr. Michael Odu, Minerva Garcia

BREE ROBINSON

Nominated by Oscar Gomez

ERICA RUIZ

Nominated by Rob Shaffer, Chris Vito, Angelica Gonzalez, Michael Wickert

CHRISTIAN SANCHEZ

Nominated by: Dr. Kindred Murillo, Rob Shaffer, Francisco Bustos, Jessica Posey, Dr. Art Guaracha

LAURA SHIMASAKI

Nominated by Nghiep Quan, Kimberly Puen Eclar, Myriam Moody

NICOLE SLADE

Nominated by Juan Gonzalez-Gonzalez

ISAAC WRIGHT

Nominated by Dr. Art Guaracha