Header Background Image


Program Overview

Political science is the study of the theory and practice of government. Prelaw is the preparation for the study of application of law within the juridical system of government. Public administration is the study of the implementation practices of the governmental agencies and legal bodies. These three departments are closely related through the common interests of the people and in service of the populace either at the local, state, or national level. These departments explore social behavior, customs, rules, and practices within the context of the self-defined common good of the community and the willingness of the members of the community to delegate authority under proscribed conditions to individuals, groups, and agencies. For questions, please call Front Desk at (619) 482-6419

Catalog Page

Program Awards

Associate Degree

Political Science - Associate in Arts

Associate Degree

Political Science - Associate in Arts Transfer

Associate Degree

Public Administration - Associate in Arts

Associate Degree

Apply to SWC Register for Classes Apply for a Degree/Certificate

Points of Interest

Open the accordion rows below to reveal more information about Political Science.

Class Schedule Academic Calendar Important Dates

Program Contacts

Background Image


Social & Cultural Studies


Joachim Latzer Dean
Elisabeth Shapiro Department Chair